HomeNEWSJay Rox Discography From 2012 to 2023

Jay Rox Discography From 2012 to 2023

Jay Rox Discography From 2012 to 2023

Jackson Ngmbi Banda, better known by his stage name as Jay Rox is a multi award winning Zambian rapper, Composer, songwriter, producer and CEO of Headphone Music.

Most people knew Jay Rox from one of Zambia’s most successful music group, Zone Fam. The group was and is arguably the greatest music group to ever exist in Zambia and it was led by one of the Zambian music industry heroes, Holstar. The aforementioned music group dropped a number of hit singles such as “Shaka Zulu On ‘Em”, “Contolla” and “Translate.” In addition, they released a studio album as well as a mixtape, dubbed “The Business and The full Script Mixtape” respectively.

Besides dropping multiple records with the Zone Fam, Jay Rox has dropped a number of solo projects including singles, studio albums and Extended plays. Jay dropped his debut studio album in 2012 titled ‘Mvesesani.’ The project had 18 tracks which includes Zamcab, Boza, Monga Nkogole to mention but a few. The project had features from Queen Diva Mampi, Chef 187, Holstar, T-Sean , Dope G and Yung Verbal.

In 2015 Jay unleashed his sophomore studio album captioned “Outside The Rox.” The album had 17 tracks with a duration of 1hour 8mins. It has guest features from the likes of Wezi, Salma, Willz, Zamba, Destro, Church Ulukuta, Chuba, Stoney-boy wonda boy, Carmine and Jo Z Jay.

“Outside the Rox” was followed by an EP tagged “Trans Afrique” which dropped in 2017. The EP had 7 tracks with a duration of 26 minutes. It featured Malawian artist, Tay Grin and local artists who include the likes of Dimpo Williams, Shadaya, Mampi, Sonye and T-Low. In the same Year Jay released his Third Studio album “Lusaka” which had 17 tracks with a runtime of 1hour 7 minutes. The project had fire jams including Get Lost, One and Only, One day and Self title Lusaka.

His Fourth Studio album was titled “Outside The Rox 2” which was a sequel follow up to his sophomore studio album “Outside The Rox.” The project had 18 songs and it featured Both international and Local artists. Nigerian artist Orezi, Ghana’s Stone Bowy and Zimbabwe’s Ammara Brown were the international artists on this album. Wezi, Mumba Yachi, Willz, and Cactus Agony were a few local artists to make a cut on this project.

“Scar” which was released in 2020 marked Jay Rox’s Fifth studio album. The album housed 23 records with features from Zambian music heavyweights who include the likes of Nez Long, Pompi, Slap Dee, Tommy D, Zar the Supreme and Trina South. The album did not only feature local artists but also international artists with the likes of Rayvanny, Ay and Victoria Kimani.

Two years later Jay went on to unleash “Enigma” in 2022 which marked his sixth studio album. The album had 21 tracks with contributions from top notch artists around the globe including Ravanny, Slap Dee, Macky 2, CJ, Yo Maps, Young Lunya, Zar the Supreme and Umusepela Chile.

When it comes to dropping albums Jay Rox’s consistency is unmatched and he shows no sign of slowing. His seventh studio album is tagged “August Turn.” The album houses 24 tracks with a runtime of 1hour 27 with contributions from Headphone music signed artist  Umusepela ChileTrina South and Zar The Supreme. It also features Chef 187DizmoAce TrapJae CashMumba YachiKaladoshasT-SeanStevoSlapdeeTommy D NamafelaT-Low, Cleo Ice QueenElisha JaydenKusahStamina, Micky Singer alongside Zimbabwe’s Nutty O.

Aside dropping solo projects, Jay Rox has also done collaborative projects including chuchunya files with Umusepela Chile, Freddy Vs Jeason which he did with Apa Iliso CEO Jea cash and an extended play title Poetry in Motion.

Credit: Cosmas Mwanza